BBZ Tried and Tested: Egyptian Magic

Every so often I hear about a product that promises wondrous things that seem so fantastic, that it seems almost too good to be true. And as a species that loves a bit of scepticism, I often choose to avoid the purchase, rather than discover a product that will change my beauty regime and skin condition for ever more.

So, this month, the Zara Team and I have put Egyptian Magic to the test to discover for ourselves why this product has caused a flood of positive reviews over the World Wide Web and what difference it would make to our skin.egyptian_magic_4oz

Why I tried it…

As I went for my usual top-up on my BareMinerals foundation, the nice (and smart) lady at the counter had given me the advice to try Egyptian Magic as a base before I applied my usual BM primer as I was rambling on about how the dry patches on my face never seem to go despite the usual killer regimen I had in place of cleanse, tone, moisturise, exfoliate etc. I had previously been using the usual E45 mixed with some olive oil as my usual moisturiser…and was seeing no real lasting benefit. I was desperate to find out more as the terrible cold weather here was just lingering on forever and my poor face just could not take anymore! hehehe…

What’s in it?

Olive oil –very similar to the oil that occurs naturally in our own skin, so when our skin is feeling dry, there is no better way to add moisture back in than by using a product that is virtually indistinguishable from our own oil structure.

Beeswax – It is no coincidence this ingredient is the selling point of furniture polish. It creates a barrier, so by keeping the skin’s natural oil within, and also preventing damage from outer elements.

Bee Propolis – Here is the ingredient that helps with skin inflammation and those troublesome skin irritations that grind you down and make you self conscious.

Bee Pollen – Whilst on a roll of bee goodness, Bee Pollen gives the skin a youthful glow. An anti-oxidant, it protects the skin from damage from harmful free radicals as well as rejuvenating skin cells, so bringing skin back to what it has been previously.

Honey – Full of nature’s natural goodness, it helps rejuvenate the skin condition as well as being useful for acne as it cleanses blocked pores.

Royal Jelly – Crammed with vitamins, this helps the skin to rejuvenate as well as boosting collagen production, meaning your skin is smoother and less prone to sag.

How easy is it to use?

There is little point having a wonder product if it is hard to use.

Egyptian Magic is less greasy than a lot of similar products, but be prepared for it to take time to fully absorb. The longer it takes, the better it is for your skin so don’t take this as a negative. A little goes a long way, so a small amount is all that is needed to add a genuine moisture boost.

Good v Bad

Surely there are no cons when you are getting an improvement in skin condition?

Reviews remain largely positive, but here is a quick summary of what others have to say after purchasing Egyptian Magic.

Good:    Increase in skin hydration, softens facial wrinkles, great all over the body, super soft skin, youthful appearance, smells nice, good on the neck.

Bad:    Skin greasy after application, sticky and gooey texture, beware fakes, heavy on the skin.

Added benefits:   Reduction in scarring, decrease in acne, cured dry elbows and feet, cured dried out hair, helped haemorrhoids, worked on burns, good for baby bottoms, stopped eczema scratching.

Team Zara’s Final Verdict…

“I have tried this cream on every mark and dry patch on my body. Whilst it’s difficult to comment on how well it works on scarring (given the little time I have used it), I reckon that it’s a great face moisturiser and gives the same level of moisturisation as any other high-end moisturiser. It’s a great foot cream – works marvellous on cracked heels and on my dry big toe! I use this as a lip balm and hand cream too!!!  Just be sure to only apply a little at a time otherwise it will appear to be too oily. Don’t be too put-off by the smell either, it’s not delicious smelling – smells of olive oil and beeswax rolled in one…but it didn’t bother me too much as the smell fades away quite quickly. And despite the price tag, the little amount you only need each time means that you will have to only top up on the jar every few months, and as it serves many purposes you wouldn’t need all the other hand creams and foot creams and lip balms… So it all evens out in the end!”  – Zara (Score: 4.5/5)

“This works great on my cracked heels, dry elbows and serves as a good night face cream. I have had a few spots on my face and the cream didn’t irritate or worsen it – so that’s always good! It felt as if it had also calmed the soreness of the big spot I had on my forehead. The smell isn’t yummy but it didn’t bother me at all.” – Ali (Score: 4/5)

“Whilst I still love my usual face moisturiser, Egyptian Magic is great for my arms and legs…it maintains a nice moisture level throughout the day so my legs look silky and smooth all day long! I personally think it’s a bit too greasy for my face but that’s probably because I do not suffer dryness.” – Angela (Score: 3/5)

Final Score: 3.8/5 = MUST TRY

Where to buy…

Make sure you get the genuine article and respect the price you pay. If it is too cheap, it may be a warning sign. Buy from a genuine stockist such as beautybyzara.com. At £ 24.00 for 4 oz, it is a product that will last.

BBZ Ratings:

  • MUST HAVE = 4-5
  • MUST TRY = 3-4
  • CAN LIVE WITHOUT = 2-3
  • DON’T EVEN BOTHER = 1-2

We always love to hear your experiences, so use the space below to tell us your story.

Zara x

Shop online at www.beautybyzara.com  for all your hair care needs and much more.

Love to hear your comments

