Cantu Argan Oil and Curl Activator Review

by Monique Thomas

I tend to come across Cantu products quite often on blogs, social network sites and in hair shops. So when the opportunity to review these two products was presented I couldn’t say no.

Mo_Cantu_Intro

Argan Oil Leave-In Conditioner 

About

Formulated for dry or coarse hair, infused with 100% pure Argan Oil, Cantu Leave In Conditioning Repair Cream stops and mends hair breakage while leaving hair soft, shiny, and manageable.

Mo_Cantu_LeaveIn_1

Scent & Texture

The scent is absolutely beautiful. It has a really nice fruity scent, which isn’t overpowering and it’s just what you want from a hair product (well that’s if you like fruity scents).

It has a paste-like consistency, kind of like an oil moisturiser. It is very similar to Giovanni’s Direct Leave-In Conditioner (my favourite leave-in conditioner).

Mo_Cantu_LeaveIn_2

Application

Prior to application I shampooed my hair and then followed up with a deep conditioner. The directions on the tub give you three options…

1) Daily Styling

2) Leave-In Treatment

3) Frizz Free Hair

Having done a deep condition, I choose to go with option 1 (Daily Styling). With this option no rinse out was required. I applied (on towel dry hair) a handful amount of the product, beginning at the roots and then I worked my way to the tips. I then detangled using a wide toothcomb.

Results

I’m happy to report that I have no negative comments about this leave-in conditioner and I’ll definitely be using it again. My hair took really well to the product as it felt extremely soft, moisturised and it provided a sufficient amount of slip for easy detangling.

 

What would I do differently?

I think for next time I’ll try this product as a deep conditioner (leave-in treatment) and see what results I get.

Moisturizing Curl Activator Cream

 Details

This silky cream is an amazing detangler and curl definer. It helps smooth the hair to leave it shiny and frizz free.

Mo_Cantu_CurlActivator_1

Scent & Texture

The Mositurising Curl Activator Cream smells just like the Argan Oil Leave-In Conditioner…absolutely beautiful. It’s not as fruity as the leave-in conditioner and it contains shea butter so you do get a hint of it amongst the scent, but it works really well.

Mo_Cantu_CurlActivator_2

Application

After applying the leave-in conditioner, I used my heat protector (ORS Heat Protection Hair Serum) before blow-drying my hair. Once my hair was dry I sectioned my hair into 6 large sections, applied a small amount to each section and then did a two strand twist. I covered my hair with a satin bonnet and left my twists in overnight.

 

Results

When I unraveled my twists the following day, my hair was super soft. Yay! My curls were shiny (as promised), bouncy and nicely clumped together which is how I like my twist outs. The product promises to leave your hair frizz free, but I still experience some frizz at the back of my hair. Even though my curl pattern is slightly different back there, I still didn’t get frizz free, smooth curls as stated.

Some people may or may not like this, but the product did leave a slightly greasy feeling to my hair. This isn’t an issue for me as I’m assuming this comes from the glycerin in the ingredients. Glycerin attracts moisture and moisture is water, so it’s great for your hair especially in the summer time when your hair tends to dry out. Overall I was happy with how it made my hair feel, but I was disappointed that my curls didn’t last for very long throughout the day.

Mo_Cantu_TwistOut_1

Mo_Cantu_TwistOut_2

Mo_Cantu_TwistOut_3

What would I do differently?

I’ll definitely be using this product again, but for the next time I’ll be using it with Eco-Styler gel to achieve more defined curls and hopefully get them to last longer.

About The Author 

My name is Monique Thomas but you can call me Mo. I’m a graphic designer from London and I write for my blog moniquethomas.co.uk. My blog is a place where I like to share my love for graphic design, natural hair, fashion, homemade recipes for hair and skin and so much more.

Live Life. Love Plenty. Laugh Hard.

monique headshotFollow me on: Twitter Facebook

Love to hear your comments

